The RTA chair, the various focus area chairs and vice chairs, and other RTA Steering Committee members comprise the senior volunteer leadership of the Regional Transportation Alliance. These business leaders are committed to the execution of the RTA Action Plan and to improving the future mobility of the region. See below for the current members of the RTA chairs council and the RTA Steering Committee.


2016-2017 RTA Chairs council

RTA chair

RTA chair-elect

Membership Development

Communications and Engagement

Events and Sponsorships

Rapid Research

  • Peter Jones, MetLife – chair

Emerging technology and paradigms

Legislative and Policy



  • Sam Nichols, First Citizens Bank – chair
  • Adrianne Elder, Duke Energy – vice chair

Regional Transit

Freight and Intercity Higher Speed Rail

RDU Air Service

Immediate past chair (2014-15 RTA chair)

Prior past chair

RTA Steering Committee members:

Fairway Outdoor Advertising

  • Aaron Guyton, Paul Hickman

Forge Communications

  • Roger Friedensen, Ray Hornak

Fred Smith Company

  • Jule Smith


Golden Corral


  • Geoff Lang, Peter Jones

Research Triangle Foundation of North Carolina

  • Liz Rooks, Linda Hall

Wake County Economic Development / EDGE 5

  • Michael Haley

Cary Chamber of Commerce

  • Howard Johnson, Kyle Greer

Chapel Hill Carrboro Chamber of Commerce

  • Aaron Nelson

Greater Durham Chamber of Commerce

  • Geoff Durham

Greater Raleigh Chamber of Commerce

  • Adrienne Cole, Dana Martinez